The backspace, up, and down arrow keys don’t work in my TOAD

03Mar09

If your Up, Down, Left,Right arrow keys,  Backspace and some other keys are not working in TOAD, then follow these steps to eliminate the problem.

1- Close TOAD
2- Go to the \User Files directory. You will find the directory under the TOAD home direcotry where it is installed. In my case it is “C:\Program Files\Quest Software\Toad for Oracle\User Files”

3- Find and delete the file “PLSQLKEYS.BIN”.

4- Open TOAD again and the problem will be solved.

For more Information

TOAD WIKI

25 Responses to “The backspace, up, and down arrow keys don’t work in my TOAD”

  1. 1 Rajeev

    Thaks for the Help

  2. 2 Sumit

    It is very useful. i got the solution.

  3. 3 ali

    try my other blog to get latest information about many technology tutorials
    http://www.tutorialinc.blogspot.com

  4. 4 kishore

    it’s working…. Thank you so much.

    If you are using TOAD 8.0, then “PLSQLKEYS.BIN” file will be saved in temp folder of “C:\Program Files\Quest Software\Toad” path.

  5. 5 Richard

    Thanks. This worked. I have been struggling with this problem a while now.

  6. 6 sobhitha

    Its working fine….
    Thanks for ur help…

  7. 7 Solth

    I dont have TOAD or i dont know where to find it but my up arrow keeps backspaceing and my left arrow will sometimes move once and then stop when i hold it down please help me.

  8. 8 venkat

    It is working, thanks so much.

  9. 9 Nilesh

    Thanks a lot its very usefull.

  10. 10 max

    Don’t work to me, i use toad 9.0
    Thanks…

  11. Thank a lot???

  12. 12 sucre

    Thanks so much!

    it really helps.

  13. 13 deshraj

    Not solved by the above help.
    Please give some alternative solution.

  14. 14 Manoj Barma

    Hi Sir,
    Thank You very much! As per your suggestion I tried and it worked!

    Thank you very much.

  15. 15 arti

    Yes it did work !! thanks

  16. 16 Srinath

    Thank you so much.. !!!! It worked.!!!1

  17. 17 dakshesh

    it worked thank you so much

  18. 18 Manish

    Thanks a lot !!! This works, perfect solution !!!

  19. 19 Ab

    Hello thanks a lot this problem has been frustrating me for weeks, found it in temps folder. Deleted and all works now

  20. 20 sarvesh

    Thanks a lot for help

  21. 21 Kiran

    Thanks a Lot for this tip. It really worked like a charm.
    I was banging my head why my arrow keys, Backspace are not working.
    This tip helped me a lot. I wonder how this file got corrupted in the first place. You have saved me lot of time by helping to fix this issue with your tip.

    Cheers
    Kiran

  22. 22 vishnu

    Thanks a lot for you help… it worked.

  23. Thanks a lot.

  24. 24 Pavan

    Thank You.

  25. 25 GS

    Perfect !!! tx


Leave a Reply

